Teamwork in Marriage

nestBy: Amber Lynch

My Dad grew up in functioning, but VERY dysfunctional family. There was substance abuse, physical and emotional abuse, infidelity and a whole lot of anger. As my Dad witnessed these struggles, he prayed for a spouse that loved him just as much as he loved her. I’m happy to say that my Dad found that spouse and he and my Mom have been happily married for 41 years.

After hearing about how my Dad prayed for my Mom, I decided I should also pray for my perfect teammate. Little did I know I had already crossed paths with that teammate, when I was five years old, at Little Lambs Pre-school in Hugo, MN. After 14 years of marriage, I will say that it feels like five minutes. Steve will joke that it feels like five minutes…underwater (I really hope he’s joking).

We purchased our first home together in Northeast Minneapolis with the intent of diving in and making it our own. We refinished hardwood floors, painted, updated landscaping, remodeled a bathroom and a kitchen, as well as many other updates. Through all of these projects, we would work tirelessly…day and night, after work and the entire weekend. In order to get us through these brutal days of hard work, we would name a “Most Valuable Lynch” or MVL. It was a way to make days of physical work more fun and a way to entice the other one to get the job done.

In the middle of our kitchen remodel, Steve once visited Home Depot eight times in one day. Without a doubt, he was MVL that day. I remember crouching over all day in an attic (but soon to be bedroom) edging hardwood floors and you guessed it, I earned MVL that day. While these projects were hard work and at times very stressful, there were a lot of laughs, a lot of high-fives and a lot of hugs. Teamwork was critical to our success and when one was dragging, the other would somehow muster up enough energy to help the other one cross the finish line for the day. Whether it was a run to Home Depot, making lunch, or letting someone be the first to “shower up” for the night, these were the days when I was so thankful that God gave me the ultimate teammate in Steve.

Though our focus is much different these days, I am still incredibly thankful for my teammate who provides for our family. Or, when he can see that I have had my fill of negotiating with a four year old, steps in to take over to give me a little relief. I think he also appreciates it when he gets into a vehicle that has been filled with gas for him, comes home to a freshly mowed lawn, or takes a night off of bedtime duty to go play soccer or basketball with friends.

With teamwork in marriage, we are living God’s promise, “Two are better than one…for if they fall, one will lift up the other.” Ecclesiastes 4: 9-10. And each time when Steve picks me up, I wonder how I could be so fortunate, but I guess I should stop wondering and just say thank you.

NOTE: Ask us which house project we called “The Marriage Tester”.

2 thoughts on “Teamwork in Marriage

  1. Amber–this is a GREAT blog post. It’s absolutely refreshing to hear about a couple who’s working together to truly make life better for each other. Thanks for your insights, encouragement . . . and for sharing Steve with the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

